Trying Out: Decorating (Week 28)

Trying Out: Poster Time (Week Twenty-Eight)

I am not a great decorator.  I have no plants sprucing things up, I really do not dust, and the dresser I have is the same one I had in elementary school.  If it works, I use it.

As a guy who cares about mass media, I do have a certain fondness for movies and comics.  And working for a long time in a movie theater means that one has their pick of promotional posters.

That is how I have ended up with three or four Batman posters.  I thoroughly enjoy the Nolan trilogy.  I have fond memories of watching all three at work.  And I always thought I should hang them up next to each other.  You know, show the progression and have them in order.

But laziness has always won out.  “Hanging posters?  Then they would have to be even!  And I cannot have crooked posters.  If I do not measure right, then the nails would create lots of holes in the wall.  What would my landlord say?  And the frames I have already have posters in them.  What if I crease a poster?  Or even worse… tear one?  No, I had better leave the chore for another day.”

Enough.  You know those fancy LASER levels that they sell?  You stick them ono a wall and they project a beam of light that is level across the room.  That sounds expensive to me.  I prefer to take a piece of thread, measure and place it a set distance from the ceiling, and scotch-tape a base line across the wall.  Leveling problem solved.  When all was said and done, I only had to adjust one of the nails I hammered into the wall.  I call that a victory.

comicwl

Now, hanging over a bunch of comics that are not worth much to anyone but me, are a nicely spaced wall of posters and sketches that I got for free but mean plenty to me.  I get a constant view of the two hobbies I care about most and all the memories that go with them.

About anecdotaltales

He's a simple enough fellow. He likes movies, comics, radio shows from the 40's, and books. He likes to write and wishes his cat wouldn't shed on his laptop.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

